HomeUncategorizedMonza’s Speed Kings: Record-Breaking Moments in Italian Grand Prix History

Monza’s Speed Kings: Record-Breaking Moments in Italian Grand Prix History

Formula 1 is an incredibly exhilarating event that captures the attention of people from all around the world. The Italian Grand Prix, hosted at Autodromo Nazionale Monza, truly lives up to the reputation of Formula 1 races.

In this blog, we will delve into the history of record-breaking moments as we eagerly await the commencement of this year’s race on the 3rd of September and the latest Italian Grand Prix news.

The King Of Monza

At Monza, Lewis Hamilton has consistently marked his presence by setting most of the race’s fastest laps. Among the distinguished roster of Formula 1 history, 43 different drivers have claimed the title of the quickest lap at the Monza circuit.

Notably, Lewis Hamilton’s name stands out, as he holds the record for the highest number of fastest laps in this prestigious event.

His accomplishment surpasses that of any other competitor. Throughout his career at Monza, he has consistently demonstrated his ability to secure the title of the driver with the quickest lap time, facing strong competition from his rivals.

The Previous Winners

19 of the quickest laps in this race have been set by drivers competing for Ferrari.

With five victories each, Lewis Hamilton and Michael Schumacher hold the record for the most victories at the circuit.

Five racers appearing on the grid in 2023 have already taken first place in the Italian Grand Prix: Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton, Max Verstappen, and Charles Leclerc are the lucky ones to do so.

Even though Lewis has five victories, Alonso also has two victories to his name. Leclerc, Verstappen, and Gasly were the drivers who added their names to a collection of the renowned Grand Prix held in Italy’s wins in the years 2019 through 2022.

The seven racers, Stirling Moss, Juan M Fangio, Phil Hill, Nelson Piquet, Ronnie Peterson, Lewis Hamilton and Damon Hill, are the only ones to have won consecutive races at the track. Fangio remains the sole driver in history to have triumphed in competition at this circuit in each of the three seasons. He accomplished this during the years 1953 through 1955. While focusing primarily on the Italian Grand Prix, it’s essential to recognise that the world of Formula 1 is dynamic and filled with excitement across various races.

A Little History Lesson

The number of times a driver from the United Kingdom has finished a race at the highest step on the podium is 21. This is the most victories from a nation across the entire globe.

At Monza, the longest sequence of eight consecutive victories achieved by eight different individuals is a remarkable record. This feat occurred during two distinct periods: from 1966 through 1973 and then from 1975 through 1983. Across these spans, eight unique drivers managed to secure championship wins. Notably, among these drivers, only Clay Regazzoni and Ronnie Peterson could clinch victory in the same race on more than one occasion throughout the entire time spanning from 1966 to 1983.

Only two racers yet have accomplished the impressive feat of achieving 2 Grand Slams. Lewis Hamilton and Ayrton Senna are the sole drivers who have not only won the Grand Prix held in Italy but also recorded a Grand Slam victory.

Winning The Competition While Dominating Every Lap

In 1990, Ayrton Senna secured victory at the Italian Grand Prix, standing atop the podium as he led every round of the competition. Along the way, he set the fastest lap of the event, ultimately clinching the win. Similarly, in 2015, Hamilton emerged victorious at the Grand Prix held in Italy, mirroring Senna’s achievements by leading throughout the race, setting the fastest lap, and claiming the triumph.

Furthermore, in 2015, Hamilton also managed to set the fastest lap time in all 3 of the free practice sessions, as well as during each of the three qualifying sessions. This accomplishment continues to stand as the most recent instance of a “perfect weekend” experienced in the Formula 1 championship. Every year, something amazing happens in the world of racing; keep up to speed on Italian Grand Prix news so you don’t miss out on anything interesting.

The Team With The Most Victories

Ferrari has won the Grand Prix held in Italy more times than any other team in history.

Ferrari is the group with the greatest number of victories in Monza, having done so 19 times on their home turf. Ferrari is also the vehicle manufacturer having the most victories in the Grand Prix held in Italy; in all, Ferrari-powered vehicles have taken 20 victories at Monza. This makes Ferrari the vehicle manufacturer having the greatest number of victories.

Having won the Grand Prix in Italy five years in a row from 2014 through 2018, Mercedes holds the title for the greatest number of consecutive victories by a team in the event.

In the last five years, the Grand Prix held in Italy has been won by five distinct squads over those seasons. The current title for the single longest victory run by distinct teams in this competition is six; this was from 1967 through 1972.

We can expect some more records to be broken this year. Once the Italian Grand Prix is over, keep your eyes peeled for the latest in Singapore Grand Prix news, the next round of the tournament.


Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments